Missing Brighton

Since most of you, I guess, haven't  been to Brighton, you are not yet in a state of actually missing the place. I warn you, though, that going there may result in a constant longing back.

My first time in Brighton was in 1993 as an STS student. I was 14 and spent four weeks in Hastings. Brighton was the destination for one of our full day excursions and I remember how impressed I was by the Palace Pier. They actually have an amusement park at the very pier.

In the summer of 2010 I returned as an STS leader.  That summer we actually had a full day's excursion to Hastings, but for now I'll focus on Brighton and what I learned to miss there. The top-5 list follows:

1. Students and leaders (whereever you go with STS, it's always your new friends you miss the most afterwards)
2. Going to cafés (my favourites are Redroaster for hot chocolate and the coffee shop at C&H for cream tea)
3. North Laine and it's great diversity of shops (they've got everything from mad hats to cafés where you paint your own cup)
4. Brighton Royal Pavillion (it's an exotic, oriental, royal castle from the 1800's, in the very city centre.)
5. Brighton Pier (this is basically the heart of entertainment and amusement, and the place where many STS students choose to spend their free time between activities. Don't forget to taste MooMoo's milkshakes here)

These are just a few things I miss about Brighton, but there are many months to go and I'll tell you more as spring progresses. No worries, though, there will still be loads left for you to explore on your own.

/Emma

Comments

Comment post here:

Name:
Remember me?

Email: (wont be published)

Blog/Website:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0