Internet



Can you do without it while in Brighton? That's very much up to you. Some students don't seem to miss it at all, while others bring their own laptops. Even though the latter is less common, I think some piece of advice could be useful.

Question 1: Should I bring my laptop?

Answer: It's all up to you (and your parents if you're underage). STS recommend you to leave your computer in your home country. If you decide to bring it anyway, I personally recommend you to contact your insurance company to investigate whether your insurance covers theft and damage. You need to have easy access to your laptop at the airport, since it needs to be scanned separately in the security check.

Question 2: Where do I find wi-fi?

Answer: You might get internet in you host family, but they don't have to let you use it, even if they have wi-fi. Ask nicely if you want to, but respect a 'no', since you're their guest. However, Brighton is full of wi-fi spots. In some places wi-fi is free, in others you get it when you buy a coffee.

Question 3: If I don't bring my laptop, could I still get internet access?

Answer: There are several internet cafés around Brighton. This is one of them. If you're in my class you will get a homework about finding the cheapest internet café (and other good-to-know-places) early on the trip. If you're not in my class you could still get the information if you're there at the same time, or why not investigate it with your group?

Don't forget that if you're in my group you will get the opportunity to blog here, since class blogging will be included in our lessons. If you have your own blog and want to write about and from Brighton, I'm happy to link to it from here. Just comment and give me your URL.

/Emma

Comments

Comment post here:

Name:
Remember me?

Email: (wont be published)

Blog/Website:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0